Stevan Aksentijevic | Pexels

Western Balkan countries

The Western Balkans comprises Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Kosovo and Serbia. All of these countries have the potential to become members of the European Union, and are therefore also referred to as enlargement countries. The EU’s enlargement policy places a strong emphasis on the need to invest in peace, security and stability. The strategy highlights the importance of a credible accession process as a means of strengthening the resilience of the Western Balkans. In 2021, the EU developed a forward-looking agenda on innovation, research, education, culture, youth and sport with the Western Balkans.

The six Western Balkan countries account for a low total number of Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) participations. In terms of the thematic focus of MSCA projects under H2020, natural sciences, engineering and technology were the most important, followed by medical and health sciences, social sciences, agricultural sciences and humanities.

For more detailed information on the Western Balkans R&I landscape and MSCA participation, check out the documents below.

Click to download the PDFs:

Western Balkans factsheet Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions

Western Balkans R&I cooperation status: Key facts and figures