Raphael Nogueira, Unsplash

Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC)

The EU and LAC countries have established a framework for bi-regional cooperation in research and innovation. This is part of a broader dialogue between the EU and the LAC countries, which is steered at the political level by the EU-CELAC Summits. The EU is seeking to reinforce its strategic partnership with the LAC region through the introduction of a New Agenda for EU-LAC relations. The EU and LAC are working towards the establishment of a bi-regional Common Research Area, which will facilitate closer collaboration between researchers on both sides of the Atlantic. To achieve this objective, the Joint Initiative for Research and Innovation (JIRI) was launched in 2010 with the goal of strengthening EU-CELAC cooperation in science and research. The Common Research Area is based on four pillars: The four pillars of the Common Research Area are: mobility of researchers, cooperation among research infrastructures and global challenges and innovation.

The LAC region, comprising 32 countries, has demonstrated strong performance in the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions, with Argentina, Brazil and Chile leading the way. In the field of natural sciences, LAC countries had the highest thematic participation in H2020 MSCA, followed by engineering and technology, social sciences and medical and health sciences.

For more detailed information on the LAC R&I landscape and MSCA participation, check out the documents below.

Click to download the PDFs:

LAC factsheet Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions

LAC R&I cooperation status: Key facts and figures

MSCA promotion landscape: Key promotion players and potential: LAC, plan 1

MSCA promotion landscape: Key promotion players and potential: LAC, plan 2